Motivation Lost, Motivation Found

Today was one of those days that involved some struggling.  I woke up and didn’t want to exercise.  I wanted to eat every thing in sight.  It was a gray, rainy, cold day and I let it affect my mood.

I don’t have days like this very often, but I do get them.  I bet you do, too.

I’ve learned to have a strategy ready to deal with days like this when they happen.  By having a strategy, it increases the chance that we stay in control of the day instead of the day controlling us. 

I’d like to share one of my strategies with you.

First, I’ll get some old, pre-weight loss pictures, and line them up next to new, post-weight loss pictures.  Lots of times, just seeing what I have accomplished so far will give me the kick in the butt I need.  (If you don’t have any post-weight loss pictures yet, then find pictures in a magazine that represent the body and fitness level that you want to achieve.  Do whatever you have to do to unleash the power of your imagination.)

Next, I’ll grab a piece of paper and a pen, and I’ll write down all the reasons that I want to lose weight and get fit.

Then I’ll write these reasons on a 3×5 card and stick it in my pocket.  I’ll read the card to myself at least 3 times during the day, and I’ll read it out loud at least 3 more times.

I can count on these 3 steps helping me to re-focus on my goals and regaining my lost motivation.  Give them a try when you need a shot of motivation, and let me know how they work for you.

5 Responses to “Motivation Lost, Motivation Found”

  1. Sweet Tart Says:

    When I don’t want to go to the gym I tell myself that I just have to go, but I don’t have to do anything intense. I promise to just walk 15 minutes on the treadmill or something. By the time I get started my motivation usually returns and I often have my best and most high-intensity workouts.

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Sweet Tart, thanks for stopping by Lose Weight With Me. I appreciate the visit and the comment.

    You offer some great advice, and this is something I will do myself from time to time.

    I’ll tell myself, “You don’t have to do 100 push ups this morning, just 3 or 4”. Then, once I get started I’m fine.

    Thanks for the awesome tip, and please stop back by.

    Brian

  3. kimmerz Says:

    Thanks. I’m just starting out, so this was great to read.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Kimmerz, thanks for stopping by Lose Weight With Me. I appreciate the visit and the comment.

    Be sure to keep stopping back, as I will be posting a lot more stuff you may find helpful in the next couple of weeks

    Brian

  5. kimmerz Says:

    Thanks, will do!

    Kim

Leave a Reply

