No Pain, No Gain? What a Load of Horse Puckey!

Please do NOT buy into the “No Pain, No Gain” school of thought when it comes to exercise.  If you’re just starting to exercise, you will probably feel some muscle soreness or discomfort.

If it’s starting to hurt, then by all means BACK OFF.

There is no shame in modifying your exercise plan.  Be patient, and you will get to where you want to be. 

Ease into your fitness routine, and you will be more likely to stick with it.

2 Responses to “No Pain, No Gain? What a Load of Horse Puckey!”

  1. Two Witches Says:

    I have always had trouble sticking to an excerise plan – but for the past two months I have been doing it on a regular basis. I started slow with 10 mins. level 1 on the stationary bike and 15 reps on the core flex — I am up to 30 minutes level 2 on the bike and 50 reps. I do it 5 days a week – that gives me two days that I can choose to not do it, and one of those is usually the weekend because I have house cleaning and other chorse I need to do so I am at least more active that day then I am at my office job. I think your advice of starting slow is great, the important thing is to start and stick with it. I will be sticking to 30 mins at level 2 for a few weeks because it really does wear me out (I am 51 and have never exercerised much), but I am adding brief bursts of increased speed within that 30 mins. and also using some hand weights to do a bit of arm exercises which is helping to increase my heart rate. Once I get used to this, I will increase the time a little and the level. Lady Rose

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Lady Rose, thanks for stopping by!

    You started your exercise plan perfectly…you started slow and have gradually added time and intensity. That is the key to sticking with it.

    I like that you’re adding brief bursts of intensity. By doing that, you should never have to go for more than 30 minutes at a time (unless you choose to). I’ve also come to believe that you burn more fat by working in intervals like that.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

