10 Gentle Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight

I think we’ve all had trouble sticking with a diet/exercise plan at some point in our lives, right?

I can’t count how many times I jumped in with both feet and would do great for a couple of weeks.  But then something would happen and I would fall off the wagon, back to my old ways and filled with self-loathing.

It shouldn’t be that way.  And if we want permanent weight loss results, it CAN’T be that way.

I have come to the conclusion that if we try to force too many drastic changes too quickly, we are setting ourselves up to fail. I think this is one of the biggest obstacles that someone setting out to lose weight faces.

So, with that in mind, I have a series of 10 tips that I’m going to post for the next 10 Sundays.  These tips are meant to be integrated into your life slowly, just one week at a time.  The small steps CAN be easily done.  And if you do all of these, you will begin to lose weight.  I promise.  🙂

Week #1 — This week, focus on what you drink.  Quit drinking soda (YES, even diet soda…it’s nothing but chemicals) and cut back on alcohol and caffeinated beverages. DRINK MORE WATER.   Drink water, coffee or tea with your meals.  If you can’t quit the soda habit completely, drink no more than 1 diet soda a day.  I was a serious Pepsi-holic before I made my life changes, so I know it can be done.  And believe me, you won’t miss it.

Be sure to check back next Sunday for the 2nd step in this series.

5 Responses to “10 Gentle Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight”

  1. 10 Weekly Steps To Begin Losing Weight: Week 2 « Lose Weight With Me Says:

    […] 10 Weekly Steps To Begin Losing Weight: Week 2 Last Sunday, I posted the first of 10 weekly tips that, if done, will help you begin to lose weight.  If you missed it, here’s Tip 1. […]

  2. 10 Weekly Steps To Begin Losing Weight: Week 3 « Lose Weight With Me Says:

    […] some small, easy steps to take that will help them lose weight.  If you missed them, here’s Tip 1 and Tip […]

  3. BecomingUnvegetarian Says:

    I have cut soda out. Although I really miss my Coke Zero! And I am slowly weaning myself from coffee and caffeinated products. I want to avoid the headaches.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi there, Becoming UNVeg — you’ve done yourself a great thing by cutting out the soda..congrats!

    As far as coffee, that’s my one last bad habit. 🙂

    Brian

  5. 10 Steps. « Practice Living Says:

    […] Focus on what you drink, including eliminating pop/soda and increasing water intake. […]

Leave a Reply

