Nutrition for Weight Loss: 5 Tips for Eating Out

It’s unrealistic to think that, just because we’re eating healthy, we aren’t going to eat out on occasion. Here are 5 tips to help you make sure that a trip out to a restaurant doesn’t turn into a total nutritional weight loss disaster:

  1. Look for steamed, grilled and broiled choices. Darn near every place you go to will offer some healthy chicken or fish dishes.
  2. Salads are a great side dish, but watch what kind of salad you’re getting. If it’s just greens and veggies, you’re OK. Tuna salad with mayonnaise or taco salad with a tortilla bowl aren’t so good. Order your dressing on the side, and just use a spoonful or two.
  3. You really don’t need the potatoes or bread. Avoid the starches! Ask for extra veggies or some fruit instead.
  4. Most restaurants have HUGE servings. Get your doggy bag in advance, and as soon as your food is brought to you, put 1/3 of it into the bag, close it and set it aside. If you’ve followed the other tips in this post, you’ve just made your lunch for tomorrow. 🙂
  5. If you MUST have a dessert, get ONE and split it with the entire table. Every one gets a bite of something yummy without guilt or too many calories.

If you follow these tips, there’s no reason that you can’t go out and enjoy a great meal with friends or family…and continue towards your weight loss and fitness goals.

5 Responses to “Nutrition for Weight Loss: 5 Tips for Eating Out”

  1. Two Witches Says:

    Great tips! For breakfast at the local diner, I get an egg white omelette with broccoli, and sliced tomato on the side (instead of the potatoes) and they are happy to oblige. It helps being prepared too – I have five places I can eat out near me — I know the calories for the dishes (looked up on the web). I also bring a small container of my own dressing (0 calorie from Walden Farms) when I go some where with a big buffet salad bar – that way I can load my plate wtih a vareityof greens and healthy veggies and feel like I got my money’s worth, but it’s not loaded down with high calorie dressing. Lady Rose (more then 60 lbs lost, less then 90 to go!), founder of The Diet Pulpit, co-author of Incredible Shrinking Ladies blog

  2. waistloss Says:

    Makes sense to me! When I order my breakfast burrito, I always tell them to leave the potatoes out and get them to add in veggies like spinach, onions, bell pepper and tomatoes. Still tasty but way less carbs.

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Man, both of your breakfasts sound great!

    Thanks for stopping by.

  4. k8johnson Says:

    These tips are great. I’m so glad I live in Europe now… Eating out here is so much more manageable. I just spent 10 days at visiting my family in Kansas City. I found the portion sizes and starchy freebies (mounds of bread in the basket, supersized fries or potatoes with every entree) overwhelming. I came back to London feeling bloated and horrible. This is compounded by the fact that everyone in KC seems to drive EVERYWHERE. I forgot how much it was NOT a walking city.

    Watching the very skinny women in restaurants was interesting. They eat like birds. Hardly touching what’s on their plates and taking loads home. I guess that’s the only way to manage it… It must be hard, though. We were all taught to clean our plates, right?

    The restaurants here aren’t service oriented so don’t give you anything for free. Most nicer places are a la carte, too. There is no bread or potatoes unless you order them. Makes eating out so much more simple.

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, K8, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

    Thanks for sharing the European perspective on dining out. It’s amazing what a difference there is between the 2 continents.

    You make a great point about being taught to clean our plates. That’s something I still struggle with, especially when dining out. that’s why it’s so important to make sure that 2/3 of the plate is covered with fruits and veggies.

    Please keep coming back and sharing.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

