Yes, It Really Can Be This Easy

I’ve been exercising for a while now, and my personal exercise routine has grown and become more complex as my fitness level has improved.  I’ve incorporated a variety of different techniques and styles into a routine that is both challenging and fun for me.

For some reason, the difference between what I do now for exercise compared to when I just started and couldn’t even walk for 15 minutes really struck me this morning.

So instead of doing the routine I normally do, I did some push ups, some squats, and went out and took a 30 minute brisk walk.

And absolutely loved it.  🙂

Yes, an effective, fat burning exercise routine really CAN be that simple. You don’t need to go to a gym, you don’t need to buy expensive equipment and you don’t have to push yourself so hard that you think you’re going to die.

Get up off of the couch.  That’s a great start.  Do some push ups, it’s the single greatest exercise you can do.  Do them from the knees if you have to.  Don’t call  them “girl” push ups, push ups can be difficult for ANYONE who is not in shape yet.  If you can’t do push ups from the knees, do them against a wall from a standing position.  No shame…you have to start from where you’re at.

Do some squats.  Don’t lower your self deep…just slowly squat down about 50 % of the way.  Are you huffing and puffing after just 3 or 4?  So what…you are DOING something to change your body.  That’s what is important here.

How many push ups should you do? How many squats?  IT DOESN’T MATTER.  Do one if that’s the best you can do. If you can do more, that’s great.

Now go take a walk.  Even if the best you can do is to walk to the end of the block and back, do it.

As your level of exercising begins to get easier, add more push ups, more squats and walk farther.

These simple steps are more than enough to get you started down the road to a thinner, fitter you.

It all starts with just getting up.

8 Responses to “Yes, It Really Can Be This Easy”

  1. Two Witches Says:

    I agree! Exercise can be easy and fun (well….some days any way hehehe) With the weather getting warmed a nice walk is great. I also suggest DANCING!!! Just crank up your favorite tunes and dance, dance, dance – through in some squats and push up or two in between gyrations and you can get a nice workout. Lady Rose (more then 60 lbs lost, less then 90 to go!), founder of The Diet Pulpit, co-author of Incredible Shrinking Ladies blog

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Lady Rose.

    You’re right…dancing can be an awesome work out, and is a lot of fun.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Brian

  3. crcchristine Says:

    I couldn’t agree more!!! I love going out for a walk. Depending on the time of day and where you go, it is as good for your mind as it is for your body!!!! The time change has made it easier. I have been coming home from work, changing for the gym, going for a walk to clear my mind of the traffic and day and then going to the gym for some harder cardio!

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    That extra bit of cardio you’re doing by taking the walk is going to help the fat just drop off of you…good job!

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    Brian

  5. Exercising for Weight Loss: Is It Really Necessary? « Lose Weight With Me Says:

    […] Lose Weight With Me So Far, I’ve Lost 60 Pounds. Watch As I Continue to Lose Weight…Or Better Yet, Join Me! « Yes, It Really Can Be This Easy […]

  6. waistloss Says:

    This is right on the money. Get up. Do something. You know I belive in the playout instead of the workout. Do something fun! Dance! Walk! Jump rope! Skip! Just move!

    My father always say that 50% of anything is better than 100% of nothing so GET UP!

  7. Toughen up Princess Says:

    Great Post

    I’m with you on this one. Any activity beats the snot out of no activity.

    Great Blog BTW. I found the link from waistloss (the post above I note)

  8. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Princess, thanks for stopping by Lose Weight With Me and leaving a comment. I appreciate it.

    Please stop back by!

    Brian

Leave a Reply

