Exercising for Weight Loss: Is It Really Necessary?

I was asked an interesting question in an email yesterday:

 You’re always talking about exercise.  Can’t I lose weight without exercising?

The short answer is yes, anyone will lose weight if they reduce calories.

BUT…(and you knew there’d be a but, didn’t you?)

If you sensibly reduce calories AND exercise you are 10 times more likely to make your weight loss permanent.

10 times more likely.  Wouldn’t you be silly to NOT work the odds in your favor?

Exercise doesn’t have to hard or miserable.  See yesterday’s post for more on that subject.  Don’t dread the thought of exercise. It will change your life.

6 Responses to “Exercising for Weight Loss: Is It Really Necessary?”

  1. totaltransformation Says:

    It is a wonderfully easy thing, isn’t it? Quite amazing how easy it can be. I am getting ready to post on the same topic.

  2. nickyvw Says:

    I think that is where I failed the last time I lost my weight. This time I am definitely exercising along with calorie counting.

  3. Helen Burton Says:

    RIGHT ON!! For maintaining my weight the magic fix is to eat healthy, limit food quanity and excercise. This combination works and by following this plan I got off the diet merry-go-round and into a healthy lifestyle.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, NickyVW, thanks for stopping by Lose Weight With Me and leaving a comment. I appreciate it!

    If you incorporate consistent exercise with a sensible reduction in calories, you will not fail.

    You can do it!

    Brian

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, TotalT — I went and read the post you referenced…very good!

    Brian

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Helen, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    That diet merry-go-round can be tough to get off of, but once you do your life totally changes.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

