Fat Burning Cardio Tip

The last couple of days have been beautiful where I live.  Sunny and in the 60’s.  Because it’s been so nice, I’ve been seeing a lot more people (myself included) out walking and running.

If you are out walking or running and want to maximize the fat burning, be sure to include some hills in your work out.

Hills will help your heart beat faster and improve your cardio vascular health.  Also, going up and down hills works your muscles at different angles which helps strengthen them and sculpt your body.

If you are a beginner, DO NOT push too hard too early!  Start out on flat ground to start building up your base fitness level.  After 6 weeks or so of consistent exercise, start hitting some gradual inclines and declines.

If you live in an area that is flat and offers no hills, check out your local high school football stadium.  You can get the same effect on the stairs there.

Incorporating hills into your walking/running routine is a great way to get out and enjoy Spring, AND to get the fat melting off of you!

6 Responses to “Fat Burning Cardio Tip”

  1. totaltransformation Says:

    I also like to add some sprints (up-hill especially) to the end of my run. Don’t have to start out big 2 or 3 and build from there. They maximize fat burning- so it is a big plus. I do about 50 or 60 yard sprints- with a gentle jog back to the starting point.

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    It’s amazing how quickly doing some hills will help with fat burning. It’s even a good tactic to help you break out of weight loss plateaus.

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Brian

  3. Charity Says:

    LOL….and then we have me, who lives where there’s at the very least, slight inclines every direction I go! I can’t seem to get anywhere walking without hitting one. 🙂 But I take them in stride and push on. 🙂

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Charity, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

    I’m in the same boat. It’s flat for about 2 blocks around my house, then we start getting into some decent hills. The direction I go is determined by how hard I want to work.

    Brian

  5. thedietpulpit Says:

    I have a nice slight incline to the road to the left as I leave my house — I tend to go right a lot more often (and not because the pizza palor is that way!) 🙂 But I do agree — inclines are great and the weather is getting nicer here too so perhaps a day or two off the stationary bike and an easy walk now and then to the left of my house would be a nice change. Keep the great tips coming! Rev. Salveo, remember laughter keeps the fat away!

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Yep, just take that left turn twice a week and I bet it helps the fat burning!

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

