On a Scale of 1 to 10

Did you know that you can control your eating by being aware of how hungry you are?

Let me explain.

Next time you’re starting to feel hungry, stop for a second and rate your hunger on a scale of 1 to 10.  If 1 =  ravenous and 10 = couldn’t possible eat a bite, try to keep it around 5.  At a five, you can control your hunger.

You may find it easier to stay around a 5 if you start eating before you get REALLY hungry, and if you stop eating when you’re NOT hungry anymore (as opposed to when you’re full).

Let me know how this works for you.

5 Responses to “On a Scale of 1 to 10”

  1. Rick Says:

    Great stuff here. One thing I’ve tried to do is, when I’m feeling REALLY hungry, have something on hand that will take care of it for now. A banana, some string cheese, maybe even a granola bar. In the old days, that would have been a Blizzard, some chocolate chip cookies, or a mega-size Mt. Dew. I hadn’t thought about assigning it a number, though. I’ll try that and see how it works.

    Oh, and if you’re looking for some dieting partners to blog with, check us out! We’d love to have you aboard.

  2. FatBloggers.net » Blog Archive » Shoot for a 5 Says:

    […] On a Scale of 1 to 10 « Lose Weight With Me […]

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Rick, thanks for stopping by Lose Weight With Me and leaving a comment. I appreciate it!

    You make a great point about having good food on hand. In fact, it’s kind of a sneak peek at the Weekly tip I’ll be posting Sunday night… 🙂

    Yes, I’d love to blog with you guys. I’ll try to get something posted this weekend.

    Thanks again, and keep coming back.

    Brian

  4. k8johnson Says:

    This is sooo true. And a really good way to keep on top of getting too hungry. Those are the times when we totally cave. I usually carry a small bag of almonds in my bag with me just in case I get stuck and am starving. It really helps tide me over to the next meal…

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    K8, be sure to come back on Sunday for the weekly tip I post. It’s all about being prepared for those times when we are tempted to cave in.

    🙂

    Brian

Leave a Reply

