Protein Isn’t the Bad Guy…

I don’t know if you may remember it or not, but in the early 90’s low fat became all the rage as far as dieting. Everyone (myself included) was eating lots of carbs (and not the good ones) and eating low protein.

This was, of course, the wrong thing to do.

Protein is incredibly important to us. It not only helps us feel full, but our bodies need it to repair muscle tissue from working out. Remember that muscle burns fat, and protein builds muscle. So protein is vital to our fat burning efforts.

I have found that I get the best weight loss results from choosing lower fat protein sources most of the time. Eggs, egg whites, lean beef, skinless chicken and turkey breast, 1% or Skim dairy products, and protein supplements have given me the best results, and they’re what I recommend you eat most often.

No, protein isn’t the bad guy.

More later.

4 Responses to “Protein Isn’t the Bad Guy…”

  1. Charity Says:

    I don’t think protein is the bad guy. I don’t think fat or sugar or any of that is the “bad guy” to tell the truth. To me, the “bad guy” is….. we humans who don’t seem to understand that our mouths do have an off switch, so to speak. πŸ™‚

    Granted I understand the need to cut back on certain things to maintain a healthy body, but as far as losing weight goes, I think it’s more knowing when to stop eating than anything else.

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Charity, thanks for stopping back!

    You make a great point about knowing when to use the “off switch” for our mouths. πŸ™‚

    The other (and perhaps more important) part of the equation, though, is knowing what to eat when we have the “on switch” in use.

    Brian

  3. thedietpulpit Says:

    I have been definitely making a point to get protein – since my calories are low on a daily basis at first it was tough. Now I use biopro protein powder – unflavored (I can even add it to my coffee as long as it’s not to hot, just warm – hot makes the powder all lumpy) — it’s 20 grams of protein, and only 80 calories (no fat). Since its whey protein isolate it is a form that the body can absorb and use the best. Then I can fill up on veggies and some fruit. I also have some fish, chicken and turkey and an egg (or egg substitute) now and then too. Lady Rose

  4. EXERCISEGOALS Says:

    Hi Brian,

    Protein has got a bad name mainly because of the RDA requirement which stresses low protein intake.

    It slike the “Just Move” slogan by the Govt. The problem is that it targets the high risk end groups so that by just moving these lazy ones the country can offset a lot of health sector money.

    We are not only trying to survive on earth but trying to live as healthy and fit as possible and that means more muscle and less fat.

    And here nothing beats protein.

    It may not be always true but if it were not for higher protein intake my body would never be 180 lbs and forget seeing those abs now I pride in.

    Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

