Why You Should Stay Away From Fad Diets

I don’t know about you, but before I figured out how to lose weight and keep it off, I tried some pretty stupid diets.

The Watermelon Diet.

The Cabbage Soup Diet.

The Grapefruit Diet.

Yes, there were other fad diets as well.

They all helped me lose a couple of pounds for the short term, but the weight loss never lasted.  These types of desperate measures may help you lose weight for the simple fact that if you eat less, you will weigh less.  But these type of extreme diets will NEVER help you burn fat and keep it off for good.  Here’s why:

  • There is no Magic Food that can offset eating too much and exercising too little.  It’s just physically impossible.
  • You don’t get all the vitamin, minerals and other nutrients that your body needs to function and stay fit.
  • It’s BORING.  If it’s boring, we will not stick with it.

There is only one solution for safe, permanent weight loss and fitness: sound nutritional principles and consistent exercise.

Don’t fool yourself into thinking that there is some magic pill or food that will strip the weight off of you.  There isn’t.  If there was, I would have found it a long time ago.

But I have found the truth.  And if you’d like to know the truth as well, keep coming back here because I am happy to share it with you.

2 Responses to “Why You Should Stay Away From Fad Diets”

  1. nickyvw Says:

    Oh my! I remember my mom doing the cabbage soup diet. I had totally forgotten about that one. I am sticking with Weight Watchers. The key to my success is writing down what I eat. If I don’t write it down, I’ll overeat.

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Nicky, thanks for stopping by.

    I’ve found that journaling can make or break someone’s weight loss effort, so I’m glad you’ve learned how important it is for you.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

