The Power of the Mind in Weight Loss

As essential as nutrition and exercise are to weight loss, it’s only when we change the way we think of ourselves that weight loss becomes permanent.  I think this is one of the primary reasons that so many of us relapse into bad habits and put weight back on.  Deep down inside, we just don’t think of ourselves as a thin, fit, healthy person.

I have just finished reading an outstanding post over at The Fit Shack about  using affirmations to lose weight and keep it off.  You really don’t want to miss this post!

At the end of the post, JoLynn recommends Psycho Cybernetics by Dr Maxwell Maltz.  I second her recommendation.  That book helped me to change my life in many ways.   It will do the same for you.

5 Responses to “The Power of the Mind in Weight Loss”

  1. JoLynn Braley Says:

    Hi Brian! 🙂

    Cool, so I’m not the only one that’s read Psycho-Cybernetics. 😉 I am very happy that you connected with my post. You are right on track that you do need to include proper nutrition and exercise, and if you can couple this with getting your mind on your side using positive affirmations, I believe you would be unstoppable in reaching your weight loss goals (or any other area of life you wish to improve).

    I’m tired of losing weight and not maintaining it permanently, so I’m pulling out all stops and really going for it now. It sounds like you are, too. Keep up the awesome job that you’re doing, see you at goal!

    JoLynn

  2. DJ Says:

    I too enjoyed that Fit Shack post. I really like Maltz’s Psycho Cybernetics too, and can see how it will be really useful in helping me lose weight and keeping it off (the latter of the two being my biggest challenge it seems!)

    Oh, and congrats on the 60lbs you’ve already lost – keep up the great work!

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hello, DJ, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment and your warm words. I appreciate it.

    If you use Psycho Cybernetics to change the way you view yourself, you WILL keep the weight off.

    Hope to see you back!

    Brian

  4. RhettWilson Says:

    Hey,
    Great stuff here!
    I’ll definitely bookmark this place and come back soon.

    Rhett

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Rhett, thanks for stopping by!

    🙂

    Brian

Leave a Reply

