Can I Get That in Writing?

Do you keep a weight loss journal? I do.

It’s something I highly recommend you do, too. Especially if you are just beginning your weight loss efforts. It’s a great way to track your progress, true, but it can do a lot more than that.

Here’s a couple of things I use my weight loss journal for:

  • My goals. (You do have your goals written down, right? And you do read them both out loud and silently to yourself at least 6 times a day, right? If not you should)
  • On Sundays, I plan my meals for the week ahead.
  • I track every thing that goes in to my mouth each and every day.
  • I jot down things like weather, my mood, and stresses I may be encountering. This has helped me identify things that trigger food cravings. How helpful do you think that can be?
  • I plan out and track my exercise routines and any other physical activity I undertake.
  • I write down ideas for this blog.

These are just some of the things I use my journal for. You may to use these same things or something entirely different. It doesn’t matter. There’s no right or wrong way to do it.

My weight loss journal has been a tremendous help in me attaining my weight loss and fitness goals, and it will do the same thing for you.

10 Responses to “Can I Get That in Writing?”

  1. thedietpulpit Says:

    I agree 100% – A journal is a must have when beginning a diet. I like the details you keep. I’m not quite so organized. I do write down food (with calories) and exercise – I have almost everything down to abbreviated form by now (been dieting since 5/1/06) – so its quick I just keep a steno pad by the kitchen, 1 page covers a week. In the beginning though it was essential for planning, and keeping track of trigger foods and planning menus.
    For blog notes and other things I have scraps of paper everywhere!! hehehe But I do have a notebook I plan on using for all the blog stuff — I just need to find it (again!). I use my blog (incredible shrinking ladies) for keeping things like my goals and other tidbits I don’t want to loose (since bits of paper disappear in my house!).
    Lady Rose

  2. waistloss Says:

    My blog is pretty much my journal. Lot better than nothing and it keeps me honest.

  3. Patrick Says:

    A food journal is probably the single best step someone can take in making their weight loss goals a reality. It clearly shows you if you are over eating, under eating or eating at the wrong times. After a couple of weeks of accurate tracking you can start to notice other trends and patterns (changing energy levels after a particular foods, a tendency to eat certain foods on certain days,…). It is one of the easiest ways to increase your self-awareness surrounding food and to uncover habits that are slowing your progress.

    Great idea to keep your goals written in it too!

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, thanks to all for stopping by!

    REV — I have to work at it, or I’d have scrap of paper all over, too! 🙂

    WAIST LOSS — It’s all about having something that keeps us honest.

    PATRICK — I agree…I don’t think the importance can be stressed too much.

    Brian

  5. atatude Says:

    I like your idea about putting your goals in your journal which I have not done. I think I will start doing a weekly goal and a week in review in mine.

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Atatude, thanks for stopping by.

    I like having my goals in my journal so I can get a reminder of them every time I open it.

    I like your idea of a weekly review.

    Brian

  7. grilledvegetablerecipe Says:

    I totally understand the idea of charting your weight and life! I haven’t owned a scale for years and I don’t miss it.I enjoy food too much. After four kids and a few car accidents my weight is finally at a place I like.Like I said I love food and grilled vegetables are to die for.

    Regards,

    KC Kudra
    GrilledVegtableRecipe.com

  8. Rick Says:

    Between my online food diary at WW, and my posts on fatbloggers.net, I think I’m doing a lot of what you’re writing about here. I do like your idea of writing down weather, etc…I usually think of eating triggers as emotional things that happen internally, but they can also be things that happen outside of ourselves as well. Great ideas here.

  9. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Rick, thanks for stopping by.

    It’s funny, but I’ve identified 3 different weather related triggers that I never would have known had I not been journaling.

    Brian

  10. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, KC, thanks for stopping by!

    Brian

Leave a Reply

