One of Those Days

It was one of those days today where I woke up and really didn’t feel like exercising.

Do you ever have days like that?

I have found that I can still manage to get myself motivated to work out by doing 2 simple things:

1.  I give myself permission to exercise for just 5 minutes instead of the full 45 – 60 minutes I usually exercise.  It’s a lot easier to get moving when you know it’s only for a few minutes.  The kicker?  Once I get started, I almost always go ahead and do the full scheduled session.  But if I want to just do 5 minutes…that’s OK.

2.  I remind my self that I don’t have to give 100% effort every work out.  In fact, there isn’t a darn thing wrong with having a half-a$$ed work out every now and then.  It’s not about perfection, it’s all about consistent effort.  🙂

Next time you’re having a day where you’re finding it hard to get motivated, give these two things a try.  I bet they’ll help you get moving.

3 Responses to “One of Those Days”

  1. Rick Says:

    No question about it. The motivation can really get thrown out the door sometimes. I need to get into my exercise regimen, in addition to my own dieting, so this is good information to have.

  2. Jason Says:

    well done… keep up the good work and I agree that a little working out is just fine.

  3. Ryan Collins Says:

    I’ve found that I can only workout consistently in the afternoons when I get home from work. I’ve tried the morning thing, and just cannot drag myself out of bed.

    It does make it harder in the summer, but there’s nothing like running 4-5 miles in 90º weather. 🙂

    When I started I found that if I bring my running clothes to work and ran at the end of the day before going home I was more likely to do it.

Leave a Reply

