10 Weekly Steps To Begin Losing Weight: Week 4

For the last 3 Sundays, I have been posting weekly tips designed to give someone just getting started some small, easy steps to take that will help them lose weight.  This is the Tip for Week 4.

This week, I want you to identify the foods that you can not control your portions  of.  For me, the foods were pizza and french fries.  I could not sit down and eat one piece of pizza…I’d eat half of a large pizza all by myself.  And I’d order the largest size available of french fries, eat mine and then have my hand in my wife’s fries stealing hers.

I simply could not control how much of these foods I ate.

I’m sure you have foods like that as well.  This week identify them, then cut them out of your diet completely.

Don’t worry, you’ll get them back again in a few weeks, along with a strategy to help you control how much of them you eat.  After all, we don’t want to go without our favorite foods for the rest of our lives…that’s a sure road to weight loss failure.

But for now, identify them and remove them from your diet.

This tip, along with the next several, will all fit together to help you formulate a healthy eating plan that will help you turn up the fat burning furnace in your body.  So be sure to check back and get all of the tips!

7 Responses to “10 Weekly Steps To Begin Losing Weight: Week 4”

  1. k8johnson Says:

    Only half a large pizza? I think I could possibly polish off a whole one if I set my mind to it! 🙂

    This is a really good idea. And I feel your pain about the fries too…

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, K8 — yes, those two items, along with Pepsi, were my food demons.

    🙂

    Brian

  3. totaltransformation Says:

    “For me, the foods were pizza and french fries. I could not sit down and eat one piece of pizza…I’d eat half of a large pizza all by myself”

    I often try to minimize the damage if I can by cutting calories in my other meals (salad for lunch maybe) and ordering a thin crust, light cheese, and tons of veggies and chicken as toppings- if I must order pizza. But more often I make a pita pizza with whole wheat pita bread (60 calories), organic tomato sauce, lots of veggies and either chicken breast or turkey bacon topping, and of course part skim mozz. cheese. Two of these pizzas have about 550 calories- not bad. And they are incredibly healthy. I will admit to even putting aspargus on them at times. 🙂

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, TT — I LOVE pita pizzas. My favorite is with tomato sauce, onions and meatballs. Yummy!

    Thanks for sharing,

    Brian

  5. John Kaiser Says:

    Try a low cal BBQ sauce in the place of tomato sauce sometime. It is good eats- sorry Alton for stealing your line.

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Mmmm…hadn’t thought about trying BBQ sauce. Sounds great!

    Brian

  7. BecomingUnvegetarian Says:

    Well..I just joined and I’m not sure what the previous entries were but for me overeating pizza is not an issue. But its a different story on the fries but I don’t eat them too much anyways. I rarely eat out. I prefer to cook at home despite being away from home from 5am-7pm everyday because of working. I have other foods that I have to learn to stay away from. Chips!! They are my ‘pizza n fries’ demons. I am cutting them out this week, even despite roving the chip aisle a few times. Mind over matter.

Leave a Reply

