Slow It Down and Enjoy

I use to attack each meal like it was a race.

I’d grab a plate, load it up and sit down (usually in front of the TV), then begin to shovel my food in so fast that I don’t think I could even really taste it.  Within a few minutes my plate was empty and I was looking for refills.

I no longer eat this way.

I have found that by slowing down and chewing each bite, I enjoy my meals a whole lot more.  But that’s not the only reason you should slow it down at meal time.

If you chew slowly and savor each bite,  your digestion will work better.  This means you will get more nutrients out of your food.  You’re also going to feel full longer after you eat.

By the way, once you finish your food, wait at least 15-20 minutes before you go for a second helping.  That’s how long it takes your body to tell your mind that it’s full.  So by waiting a few minutes, there’s a great chance you’ll pass on the extra food.

Being mindful of your eating will help you enjoy your meals more and will help you feel full longer.

9 Responses to “Slow It Down and Enjoy”

  1. thedietpulpit Says:

    So very true! By taking your time and really enjoy your food you satisfy your other senses too – sight, smell, taste — and makes a meal much more satisfying overall which helps curb the need for seconds. B.D. (before diet) I could down a couple slices of pizza in a few minutes before I realized I hadn’t really tasted one. Now A.D. (after diet) I can make a protein bar last and get several bites out it and feel totally satisfied (I use Extend bars, they taste great!). Lady Rose

  2. Mike Says:

    busted, yep. That would be me.
    My wife takes 45 minutes to eat a meal that takes me 10 minutes. I’ve gotten used to just waiting on her at the end. I try to slow down sometimes but the moment I stop thinking about it, I sucking it down again.

  3. southernfriedfatty Says:

    Great post. My next post will be about this subject because it is the next step for The Beck Diet Solution. You always have great advice. Thanks for our support too!

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Lady Rose and SFF — thanks for stopping by and leaving comments!

    Brian

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Mike — thanks for stopping by.

    My wife was always much slowing eating than I was. She used to get mad at me because she’d spend so long cooking dinner and I was finished in just a couple of minutes.

    Brian

  6. Deb Says:

    URGH – I wish I had read your post 15 minutes ago – I just wolfed down a brownie and I didn’t savor it, just shoved it down – ugh will I ever learn?! So I’m really struggling with this lately – I’m eating so fast and I’m done with my meal before I even realize it. Thanks for the post and I’m going to try really hard to slow down tomorrow.

  7. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Deb — I’m glad that this post may have helped a little!

    Thanks for stopping by,

    Brian

  8. Stephen Rees Says:

    “I’d grab a plate, load it up and sit down (usually in front of the TV)”

    since I now live alone I recognize this behaviour. Trouble is if you are watching tv you are not watching what you eat. Bad idea. Much better to turn off the tv and concentrate on enjoying your meal – not just stuffing it down unconsciously. That way you will begin to recognise when you have had enough. Apparently it takes 20 minutes for the signal from the stomach to get to the brain “OK, that’s enough now”

    If you do have friends and family to eat with so much the better. The chances are that conversation will consume some of the time and slow the process down. It should also make it more enjoyable. Meal times are especially important for families with children. Appreciation is the key … appreciate your food and appreciate your family and friends. Enjoy the process. Meals are meant to be enjoyed.

  9. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Stephen, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. And I agree with you 100%…meals ARE meant to be enjoyed.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

