Say Hello To Your Abs

When we think of abs, most of us picture that sexy 6 pack of muscles located below the chest and above the waist. While those are the most visible ab muscles, there are other muscles to consider as well.

And personally, I take the emphasis off of the abs, and place it on the entire core.

Yes, we want our stomachs to be flat and look good, but it’s even better for us to have a strong core section. That way we tend to not have back problems and are able to do things like bend, stretch, turn, etc a whole lot better.

So don’t just think abs; think core.

With that in mind, there are 5 regions of the core that we want to exercise to develop a strong, good looking core:

  • Upper abs
  • Lower Abs
  • Obliques – these are the muscles that run along the side of your torso
  • Tranverse abdominis – this muscles runs sideways around your abdominal area, acting as a girdle supporting your entire core
  • Lower back – vital to a healthy and strong core. This is an area that is frequently overlooked.

To effectively work our core, we need to include exercises for all 5 areas, and we want to do them 3 times a week. Now, remember…EXERCISE ALONE WILL NOT GIVE US A 6 PACK. Muscular definition of the stomach area (any area, in fact) is the result of exercising the area AND a low body fat percentage.

DO NOT let this discourage you. First of all, having a strong core will help you in more ways than you probably realize. But don’t lose sight of the fact that consistent exercise and consistent eating habits will give you the results that you want.

I will be posting a beginners ab routine for you in the next couple of days. I was going to try to do it tomorrow, but I am flying to New York tomorrow, and will not be in till late. I don’t believe I will have the opportunity to post it until Monday evening, or possible Tuesday.

But post it I will, and I promise you…follow it, be prepared to be sore for a day or two and you will heading down the road to a strong core and a sexy stomach!

4 Responses to “Say Hello To Your Abs”

  1. Deb Says:

    I have been really lax with working out my abs lately and I pulled out my back this weekend. I am sure that my weakened abs had something to do with it! I never had lower back problems when I consistently worked my abs. I can’t wait for your beginner routine!

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Deb — I’m going to try to have it posted on Wednesday. Be sure to check back!

    Brian

  3. Ms I Want a Six Pack Says:

    I found the following really helpful… I got sick of my old ab routine. I had to change my diet as well but I added these exercises:

    1 – Lying face up, hand down at your side. Bring your legs up, knees slightly bent with the bottom of your feet toward the ceiling. This is your start position. While keeping the abdominals pulled in (contracted), slowly lower your right leg, until the heel touches the ground, and then raise it back up. Do this fifteen times. Then switch legs.

    2 – Lying face up with knees bent, feet off the floor. Arms are extended as if reaching toward the sky if you were standing. As you breathe out, slowly bring your knees toward you by contracting your abdominals (pulling inward). Then breathe in as you return to the start position.

    3 – Lying face up with knees bent, heels on the ground and toes pointing up. Lift your butt off the ground to engage the core muscles. Now, here is where the fun starts. Lift one foot off the floor, extending that leg until it is straight, bring it back to the start position (heel on ground) and then do the same with the other leg. Keep alternating until you do a total of twenty, ten on each side.

    There is a full program that Joey offers as well – however I found the above exercises really helped move things along .. http://www.justforyoupublishing.com/abscorestrength/index.html

    I also used this eating plan to help:
    http://www.virtualfitnesstrainer.com/Blow-torch-diet-download.htm

  4. Bamboo Says:

    Hi, I have a question about the core area. I am not over weight, I am not trying to loose weight. Right now I am at 106lb, but, just the abs are sticking out. I do core excersie 4 times a week. I just started 4 weeks ago. How long will it take for me to have a flat ab.

Leave a Reply

