To HECK With the Scale!

I’m not a fan of the scale…it’s a liar.

Scales readings are nothing but a measure of the effect of gravity on your body. The scale can’t tell how much of the weight is muscle and how much is fat. It can’t tell you how much fluid you’re retaining. And it fluctuates as much as 5 pounds in the course of a day.

I think the best measure of your progress is your body fat percentage. Not easy to measure it yourself, however. I do recommend you get you get your body fat measured at a gym or by a personal trainer every other month or so.

But what can you do easily at home to get an idea of how your fat burning efforts are doing? Here’s one way:

Waist to Hip Ratio – This is a great way to measure belly fat. This is important to know…belly fat is dangerous! I’ll post more about this soon.

To get this ratio, start by measuring your waist at the belly button, and your hips at the widest point of your butt. Now divide the waist measurement by the hips measurement. For example:

Waist – 48

Hips – 42

48 divided by 42 = 114

Now as a ROUGH rule of thumb, you want to your ration to be at 92 or below.

The waist to hip ratio is by no means perfect. And like nearly all measures, it should be used only as a gauge to check your progress. But it beats the heck out of beating yourself up because the scale shows you gained a pound for the last week.

12 Responses to “To HECK With the Scale!”

  1. Summer Says:

    Oh, I’m a new reader and hate to get into a debate already, but I love my scale, even on the days when I want to throw it out the window. It helps me to know when to buckle down or when it’s okay to have a (small) piece of birthday cake. I like to see progress, and that little digital read is an instant reminder of how far I’ve come, and of the strides I still want to make.

  2. McCormick Says:

    I have a lot of belly fat, URGH! Great info. Thanks!

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Summer — thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment…I appreciate it.

    If you are are able to handle the ups and downs that come along with the scale, then there’s nothing wrong with it at all.

    The problem with the scale for most people is when they’ve ate right and exercised all week long, step on the scale and it shows a gain. Ouch! For many folks, this is enough to for them to think “Oh heck with it” and go back to old, bad habits.

    But I like I said, if it works for you, then there’s no problem. 🙂

    Thanks again for stopping by!

  4. waistloss Says:

    You hae been tagged. Check my site for details…

  5. Me Says:

    Scales scare me, to be honest. I used to be anorexic and bulimic, and am trying to recover now, but back then I would weigh myself, literally, 20 times a day. That is not healthy or effective! Some people, like Summer, can deal with weighing themselves and it’s helpful for them but I prefer to concentrate on how my clothes fit and, even more than that, how I feel. When I go to the doctor for a physical I actually ask them to weigh me backwards so I don’t see the number and freak out. But then again I am not really a “normal” example either!
    My nutritionist told me that a woman’s weight can fluctuate 5 pounds either way without it actually meaning that she has gained or lost real weight (as opposed to water).

  6. Robin Says:

    I hate the scale as well. I used to be the type of person that would get on the scale every morning and my day would be dictated (good or bad) by what the metal monster told me. I finally realized that the scale weighs EVERYTHING including muscle. I weigh myself once a month now to make sure I am on the right track…I gauge my success by my clothes size and the way my body looks. Losing inches and gaining muscle is much better. This is what works for me…

  7. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, ME — thanks for stopping by and sharing your thought on the scale.

    ROBIN — glad to see you stopped by!

    I agree with both of you…I like to use how my clothing fits and the mirror to gauge my success. I do get my body fat measured every so often as well.

    🙂

    Brian

  8. Charity Says:

    I have a love/hate with the scale. I weigh myself simply because I like to have a general idea of what the doctor is going to see when I go. Doctors do one thing I don’t like when they’re pusing at you to lose weight, and that is, they go strictly by what that scale says. You can be 10lbs over ideal weight, but it’s all muscle, and that doctor will tell you to lose 10lbs.

    But a much better gauge for me has been how my clothes fit, especially my uniforms at work. They’ve gotten looser lately, which to me, is a very good thing. 🙂

  9. The Art Of Shaving Aftershave Gel Lavender Says:

    This Week’s Links

    […] If you’re interested in learning more about this stuff, I suggest you go to this site: […]

  10. loseweightwithme Says:

    Glad to hear that the clothes are getting looser, Charity…that means you’re doing the right things!

    Way to go.

    Brian

  11. Janis Says:

    I just happened (?) to stumble on your site here…..regarding
    Lose Weight With Me…… 10 weeklysteps, today it was in regards to
    exercising…..Step 6 I think….Where can I get your previous steps ?
    I have alot of weight to loose, about 75 # and I have failed and failed
    and failed….However, have I really failed ? I am still trying and altho
    I have only lost 50 # (still need the other 75) over the past year, I have
    been stuck since christmas. It is verydiscouraging, and I tend to want to
    eat. A major struggle for me right now….Scales help me to at least
    maintain, but I too have been one who jumps on and off 2 or 3 times
    a day!
    thanks……Janis

  12. loseweightwithme Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Janis. I’m glad you like the 10 Weekly Tips. You can find them posted for the last 6 Sundays.

    Congrats on the 50 pounds you’ve lost! If you’ve already lost 50, you know how to lose the other 75. What are you doing differently now?

    Brian

Leave a Reply

