10 Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight: Week 6

For the last 5 Sundays, I have been posting weekly tips designed to give someone just getting started some small, easy steps to take that will help them lose weight. This is the Tip for Week 6.

This week, I want you to begin to move.

It doesn’t have to be a lot, and it doesn’t have to be strenuous. But it does need to be consistent. So for a minimum of three times this week, I want you to go out and do something that will make your heart rate elevate a little bit.

Pick an activity that you will enjoy. It doesn’t matter what it is. Ride a bike. Rollerblade. Walk. Whatever activity you choose, try to do it for at least 20 minutes. If you can’t do it that long, it’s OK. Just do whatever you can do. I know I’ve told you before, but when I started, I was so heavy and so out of shape that it was a struggle to walk for 10 minutes. But I started walking every day, and it was the first step in changing my life.

Try for 20 minutes 3 times this week. Go Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Or Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. It doesn’t matter which days you go, only that you GO.

One word of caution: don’t try to do too much too soon. If you push too hard, you may get sore and quit exercising before you even get in the groove. For the first 2 weeks, it’s important to take it easy, and do LESS than you‘re capable of doing.

One of the keys to losing weight and keeping it off permanently is exercising. There is no way around it. If you’re not use to exercising, this one simple step is going to take you a long way towards your goals.

2 Responses to “10 Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight: Week 6”

  1. southernfriedfatty Says:

    You always have such good advice for people at any stage of losing weight/ getting fit. I’m making you my “Blog of the Week”.

    Hope everything is good with your new job.

    SFF

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Wow, I’m honored, SFF! Thank you.

    The job is going very well. I get to go home for the upcoming weekend, so I’m looking forward to that. 🙂

    Brian

Leave a Reply

