The Fastest Growing Group You DON’T Want to Be Part Of

Researchers are reporting that the fastest growing group of overweight Americans are those who are 100 pounds or more overweight. An article about it can be found here.

They are also reporting that the number of severely obese Americans INCREASED BY 50% between 2000 and 2005. And that’s despite an increase in the number of bariatric surgeries and other drastic weight lost methods.

That is a HUGE increase.

Think about it a minute. More surgical procedures to try to help people lose weight than ever before. More attention being placed on eating and exercise habits than ever before. And more people severely obese than ever before. By 50%.

So what the heck is going on?

After giving it some thought, I’ve come to believe that it’s 3 factors. I think it’s 1) a lot of conflicting information about diet and exercise, 2) marketers making money hand over fist by telling people they can lose weight effortlessly if they just buy what the marketer is selling, and 3) people looking for quick easy weight loss solutions. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been victim to all 3 of these factors.

Please know that you can make the choice to be clear of these 3 factors. This thinking is BS, and I think deep down we all know it.

You can choose to NOT be in the fastest growing group of obese people by choosing to follow the right principles of nutrition, exercise and attitude.

I will be happy to help you any way that I can, but the final choice is right where it has always been…in your hands.

Please choose wisely.

 

8 Responses to “The Fastest Growing Group You DON’T Want to Be Part Of”

  1. mcgheetraining Says:

    “People looking for quick easy weight loss solutions”. You’re absolutely right.

    Media has a lot to do with it. They make people believe that it is difficult losing weight, when in fact it isn’t.

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, McGhee — thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I agree that media has a lot to do with it. I’m not sure that I agree that losing weight isn’t difficult…I tried many times before I figured it out.

    I would agree that the steps to losing weight are simple…not easy, mind you, but simple.

    Thanks again for stopping by.

    Brian

  3. Lily Says:

    I think it’s because people are too busy to make meals at home anymore.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Lily…thanks for stopping by.

    I agree that time can be a factor. I’ve found that with a little planning my wife and I are able to prepare delicious, healthy meals and still have plenty of time for other things.

    You know, you’re giving me an idea for a future post here…

    🙂

    Brian

  5. Your brother Says:

    I think there are some major contributing factors that most people don’t ever consider:

    – Through thousands of years of adaptation to meager living conditions throughout most of human existence, our bodies find high calorie foods tasty and pleasurable, encouraging us to eat while the high calorie stuff is available, because there might not be anything the next day.

    – We live in such wealth and abundance today, the high calorie foods are available whenever we want them. And they are still tasty and pleasurable.

    I think there is a biological drive to eat in times of plenty, so that we have the necessary fat stores to survive when times are lean. The problem is that every day is a time of plenty.

    To top that off, so few people are active in their daily work and activities. Exercise is a new idea to the human race–we used to get all the activity we needed just trying to survive.

    It’s a deadly combination of factors.

  6. Bama Says:

    I was in that group! I don’t think I am any more. At least I hope not.

    I just made dumb choices because I didn’t really care.

    Fast food and not exercising is easy. Eating right and exercising is hard. Being healthy requires a dramatic change in priorities for obese people. It also requires a lot of patience.

    Good luck to everyone who’s made the change. We’ll get there. Eventually.

  7. Michelle Says:

    I think it is a lot of things. Definately all the things you have mentioned. Maybe the invention of the remote control (I know that was pre 2000 but still a consideration) or the air conditioner. Poor quick choices. For example I stopped at the gas station this morning to pick up a coke zero to take to work with me and I thought I would grab some fat free or low fat pringles or chips of some kind. None to be found. There was a pretty nice selection of Pringles for a BP Station, all their available fatty flavors but not one can of low fat or fat free pringles. So I look at all the quick grab chips and not one of them are low fat or fat free. So what did I do? I just bought the Coke Zero.

    At the drive thru, the lower fat stuff isn’t usually showcased on the light-up board. It is easier to order a Big Mac or Whopper than to get into a conversation with the order taker about how you can lighten the meal up a bit.

    Since this age of our existance is all about convenience, we make poor decisions regarding what we eat. I saw an article today about 100 calorie packs and about what a waste of money they are or that the product isn’t as good as the regular packed goods. Why would people go out of their way to buy it now?

    Sorry for the long reply. I definately don’t want to be part of this growing group.

  8. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Bro! Thanks for stopping by. You make good points, especially the last two. When all is said and done, our metabolisms are still those of our caveman ancestors. It behooves us to eat like them.

    BAMA — Glad to see you stop by and leave a comment. I like your point about changing priorities. Our behaviors don’t change permanently unless our priorities do as well.

    MICHELLE — Thanks for commenting, and never feel like you have to apologize for the length of your reply. I want to hear what you have to say. 🙂

    Brian

Leave a Reply

