What Gets In YOUR Way?

I frequently think about the difference between success and failure when it comes to weight loss. What is it that causes so many people to struggle in their weight loss efforts? Why were my own efforts unsuccessful for so long?

I’ve identified about 10 things that can get in the way of losing weight and keeping it off. I want to share one of them with you today, and I’d like to hear from you about the things that get/got in your way as well. I wanted to talk about this one first because I think it’s one of the most common…

Making excuses for our behaviors – If you want to guarantee that you won’t change a behavior, start making excuses for it. I shudder when I think about the list of excuses I used to have. Do you recognize any of these?

“I can’t afford to eat healthy…it’s expensive!”

“I just don’t have time to do all that cooking”

“I woke up too late to go to the gym today…I’ll go tomorrow”

“I can’t help it if my family doesn’t want to eat healthy”

“I’m too tired at night to exercise”

I could go on and on, but I’m sure you’re getting my point.

What I learned to do was counteract these thoughts whenever they popped into my head. Just because they pop up does not mean that you have to buy into them.

When these thoughts pop up, add this to them: “…but I’m not going to use it as an excuse. I want to be fit and thin!” Think this and mean it.

For example, “I’m too tired at night to exercise…but I’m not going to use it as an excuse. I want to be fit and thin!”

If you say this or think it with a lot of feeling, if you truly MEAN it, then you can counteract those thoughts.

If you’re anything like me, you’ll find that the sooner you quit making those excuses, the sooner you will get results.

 

10 Responses to “What Gets In YOUR Way?”

  1. totaltransformation Says:

    Excuses are huge. How about this one.

    “It’s in my genetics to be fat.”

    More often the truth is, I like the undisciplined life I lead or I am afraid of trying and failing.

  2. loseweightwithme Says:

    Great point, TT. Thanks for stopping by.

    Brian

  3. moxymedia Says:

    Hey, get out of my head! Only I’m supposed to know those excuses. Thanks for giving me a retort…for myself! Thanks for the kind words on my blog, also. I’ve subscribed to your blog – I really like that ab workout you posted. I was already doing about six of them, but now you’ve enabled me to spice it up a little! Keep up the good work.

  4. thedietpulpit Says:

    Hey you are the featured blog for tag “fatblogging” today! Congrats. 🙂 I have soooo many excuses I’d need a full blog to write them all donw — but I drag my butt up for exercise anyway. Eating healthy is getting easier, but the cravings still kick in from time to time. I think my top excuse that still tries to convince to eat something not on my plan is “but I worked so hard I deserve!” But I’ve learned to remind myself that a better reward is feeling healthy and having more energy – NOT that cookie or whatever it is I am thinking about indulging in. Lady Rose

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Moxy — thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m glad you liked the ab workout…let me know how it works for you!

    Please stop continue to stop by.

    🙂

    Brian

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Lady Rose — that’s an excuse that I have to careful of, too!

    Brian

  7. Michelle Says:

    Here’s one:

    I want people to like me for who I am and not the way I look.

    As I got older, I realized it was about me, not about their acceptance of me. I want to be healthy. It was just an excuse to eat more.

  8. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Michelle — That’s a great example of a self-excuse. I’m glad you’ve been able to see through it.

    🙂

    Thanks for stopping by,

    Brian

  9. robinrichter Says:

    You are dead on with the excuses – we all make them at some point, many us all the time!

    You visited my blog and cheered me on for my ongoing weight loss journey. I am just beginning and your support is awesome. Thank you!

    Great blog you have!

    Robin 🙂

  10. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Robin, thanks for your warm words. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by,
    Brian

Leave a Reply

