10 Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight: Week 8

For the last 7 Sundays, I have been posting weekly tips designed to give someone just getting started some small, easy steps to take that will help them lose weight. This is the Tip for Week 8.

I was planning to post a tip concerning carbohydrates this week, but decided to wait for it. I’m currently experimenting with my carbohydrate intake, and I’m getting weight loss results that I didn’t anticipate.  Rather than post something and then have to retract it, I’m going to wait until the end of my carb experiment. Stay tuned.

So instead of a tip concerning carbs…

This week may be the most difficult week you’ll experience in your weight loss efforts.  This week, I want you to avoid any man-made foods.  In other words, no processed food this week.  Only whole foods.

This means no breads, cheeses, lunch meats, cereal or alcohol.  No foods that have preservatives.  Avoid anything that comes in a bag, wrapper or box.

You can feel free to eat all the fruit, vegetables (raw or cooked), eggs, whole grains and meats (no condiments!) that you’d like.

If you’ve been incorporating these weekly tips into your life, this week shouldn’t be too bad.  If you haven’t put all of the previous tips into effect, go ahead and try this one any way.  It’s a key to losing weight.

Now, I want you to avoid the man-made and process foods starting tomorrow and continuing through Saturday.  On Sunday, reward yourself with a cheat day.  I believe that cheat days are VITAL to your ability to get fit and thin.  So by all means, enjoy yourself next Sunday.

And be sure to come back next Sunday evening for the next tip.

🙂

 

9 Responses to “10 Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight: Week 8”

  1. McCormick Says:

    I’m interested to see what your outcome is. I already decided to cut out most food mentioned above for this week as a experiment. I’ll post my results on Saturday.

  2. GinaB Says:

    Drat – And I just bought a small wedge of cheddar!

    This is the best suggestion! I eat low carb and I’m very happy doing it. If you suffer from heartburn, acid reflux or indigestion – you’ll be surprise how much better you’ll feel eating this way.

    I already eat according to this week’s challenge except for cheese and yogurt. I’ll give up my cheese and condiments this week and I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Join in everyone!

    Oh- and great site, BTW. I’ve been reading for about 2 months now.

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    McCormick — Be sure to let us know how it goes…but no channeling David Hasselhoff this week! 🙂

    GinaB — Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for the compliment. I think you’ll be surprised at how much of a difference cheese and condiments can make. My own weight loss not only improved, but my health improved as well once I started avoided processed food. Be sure to let us know ho it goes for you!

    Thanks again for stopping by, guys.

    Brian

  4. OFM Says:

    Brian
    This is all well and good for you city folks but for us country people it is not a variable choice. I have to drive 50 miles (round trip) just to get my mail, and I have to have processed food or the fuel costs blow out and I won’t have any money to but food after the fuel cost. I can only afford to go shopping for food once every 3 weeks. This is one of the major problems with trying to loose weight in a small country town (for those who wonder how small there are only between 60 and 70 people in my town and we have no stores I have to go 5 miles up the road for bread and milk)

    Thanks for your help Brian I enjoy your blog

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, OFM — Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment…I appreciate it!

    I live in a city of around 50,000 in a metro area of 400,000 so I won’t pretend to understand your situation.

    Having said that…what about a garden? Do you have a garden full of fresh veggies?

    How about frozen veggies? They may not taste quite the same as fresh, but they’re a great option.

    Are eggs an option for you? They’re an incredibly healthy food and very cost effective where I’m from.

    Like I said, I won’t pretend to understand rural life, so I may be full of it on these suggestions. 🙂

    Just remember that no matter what you eat or where you are, you are going to have some options that are healthier than others. Just be sure to make the best choice that you can!

    Thanks for stopping by…and I’m glad you like the blog.

    Brian

  6. OFM Says:

    “what about a garden? Do you have a garden full of fresh veggies?”

    Well I would love a garden but we are in the middle of a 15 year drought and I don’t have the water also I am no good in the garden (or as I call it the cemetery)

    “How about frozen veggies? They may not taste quite the same as fresh, but they’re a great option.”

    I do use frozen foods but isn’t that processed

    “Are eggs an option for you?”

    I love eggs but my doctor has told me to cut down because of high cholesterol

    “what you eat or where you are, you are going to have some options that are healthier than others.”

    I do make healthy choices, I avoid products high in fat, sugar and salt but as you all know what works for some doesn’t work for all.

  7. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, OFM — thanks for stopping back by.

    Frozen vegetables buy themselves are not a processed food. If you cook a bag of green beans, you’re fine. If you cook a bag of green beans in cheese sauce…well, that’s not so good.

    If cholesterol is a problem, then discard the yolks and use the egg whites. Use some of the frozen vegetables and egg whites and make an omelet…that’s one of my favorite quick meals.

    I’m glad you’re avoiding food high in fat, sugar and salt. At the end of the day, we can only make the best choices available to us.

    🙂

    Brian

  8. 5 No-Effort Ways to Eat More Veggies « Lose Weight With Me Says:

    […] No-Effort Ways to Eat More Veggies In a post last Sunday, I recommended that people avoid processed food this week, and only eat whole foods.  I have also suggested in the past that people who want to lose weight […]

  9. 10 Steps. « Practice Living Says:

    […] Skip processed foods for a week. This means no bread, cheese or alcohol. Nothing with preservatives or that comes in a bag, wrapper or box. It means eating things like real fruit and vegetables, eggs – things that naturally come from the earth, basically. […]

Leave a Reply

