Getting the Best Weight Loss Out of Your Treadmill

As mentioned previously, I began a new job on April 16th with a 12 week training program in New York.  I’m lucky enough to get to go home every other weekend, but for the most part, I’m living in a hotel suite for 3 months.

This has called for some adjustments to my lifestyle, and one of the biggest adjustments I’ve had to make is to my exercise routine.

In order to continue to get a half way decent cardio workout, I’ve begun to use the treadmills in the fitness center down the hallway from me.  I’ve always been one who likes to go out and enjoy the sunshine and being outside when I take a walk, so the treadmills have been a pleasant surprise.

Let me state here, that I still firmly believe that the best place to talk a walk is outside.  But in a pinch, you can get a great cardio work out on the treadmill.

Here’s the thing I’ve noticed, though; probably 95 % of the people I see on the treadmills are NOT getting the best workout they could be getting.  In others words, they’re not maximizing the weight loss they should be getting from their efforts.

Don’t let that be you!

Here are a couple of tips to help you get the most out of YOUR efforts:

  • Don’t hold on to the rail in front of you and let the machine drag you along…you’re losing intensity and losing some of the fat burning.
  • Don’t hold on to the side rails, either – again, it’s lessens the intensity that you are exercising with, and you are NOT burning the amount of calories that the little flashing LED lights say you are.
  • Just barely hold on to the rails until you get your balance.  Then do your walking or running with your arms swinging naturally.  Now you’re maximizing your work out!

If you’re doing the right thing by exercising, then you owe it to yourself to be sure that you’re doing it correctly.

9 Responses to “Getting the Best Weight Loss Out of Your Treadmill”

  1. mcgheetraining Says:

    I totally agree. There’s a girl in my gym that puts it up to the highest grade and literally holds-on-for-dear-life as she walks as fast as possible. I don’t sat anything, she’ll probably think I’m trying to hit on her. Snooty! 🙂

  2. mcgheetraining Says:

    By the way, right now may be a perfect time to look into using stretch bands in your workout or hiring an online personal trainer 🙂

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Mcghee — I brought stretch bands with me! Thanks for the suggestions.

    🙂

    Brian

  4. Chicken Girl Says:

    I must confess that I have a tendency to hold the rails when I walk (never when I run). However, I’ve often wondered whether the rail-holding is doing anything for my arms.

  5. Charity Says:

    I hold the rails when I walk, but that’s because the treadmill I use monitors your heart rate through sensors in the rails. That and the one that I’m using now (my favorite one is broken) has a weird habit of starting the tread belt as soon as you start adjusting the speed. Go figure. I don’t hang on for dear life, but on this particular treadmill, I do hold onto the rails where the sensors are. 🙂 At least long enough to get a reading on it then I’ll let go again. LOL

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, ladies!

    CHICKEN GIRL — I don”t think that it would do anything for your arms, but this might be a good place for McGhee to jump in.

    CHARITY — If you’re just holding on long enough to get a reading, that’s not a problem.

    Brian

  7. totaltransformation Says:

    And by all means use the incline setting! Many people never touch it.

  8. loseweightwithme Says:

    Good point, TT — thanks for bringing it up!

    Brian

  9. TheMorbidMe Says:

    Most important, is, if you want to loose fat, is to maintain a constant heart rate, for an average person it would be 140. It is not about getting exhausted, it is about keeping your pace constant in a zone where the body burns fat.

Leave a Reply

