5 No-Effort Ways to Eat More Veggies

In a post last Sunday, I recommended that people avoid processed food this week, and only eat whole foods.  I have also suggested in the past that people who want to lose weight should adopt the “2/3’s Rule”, where 2/3’s of their plate is covered by veggies and fruit at every meal.

The problem is, a lot of people have trouble eating vegetables.  I use to as well, but I’ve found that has if you quit eating processed crap, your tastes will change, and you’ll begin to crave fruits and veggies.   At least that’s how it worked for me.    But until you get to this point, it can be rough to eat all the veggies that you should.

If you’re one who recognizes the values of vegetables but have some trouble getting enough servings of them in every day, here’s 5 tips that you may find helpful:

  1. Go to your grocer and buy 5 or 6 bags of the frozen vegetables you like the best.  Grab a bowl, mix up a combination of several types of veggies, nuke ‘em, then drizzle with a little of your favorite low-fat, low-sugar dressing.  Eat 2 or 3 cups of them.  This is a quick, easy and tasty way to get in your veggies!
  2. Vegetable in a can – tomato soup!  And no, this is NOT the preferred way to get vegetables.  But don’t be afraid to eat a bowl of tomato soup and count it as a vegetable EVERY NOW AND THEN.  J
  3. Buy vegetables that are already washed and have been cut up.  This is a huge time saver.
  4. I love the bags of baby spinach, and I use it a LOT of different ways: on sandwiches, added to salads, even added to soup.
  5. Do something to spice them up and make them taste a little better.  For example, cook some frozen carrots, put them on your plate, the drizzle – DRIZZLE! – a little bit of maple syrup on them…yummy!  Or, chop up some pecans or cashews and throw them on top of your green beans.  Also very yummy.

If you just flat out don’t like veggies, just be sure to eat a lot of fruit.  It’s also healthy.  It isn’t always the easiest adjustment to make, but if you follow the 2/3’s rule at every meal, you’re well on your way to weight loss success.

10 Responses to “5 No-Effort Ways to Eat More Veggies”

  1. Chicken Girl Says:

    Is it okay to count V8 as a vegetable? 😀

    My big problem with veggies, other than the taste, is that raw ones take so freaking long for me to eat. I mean, I know it’s good to take your time, but upwards of an hour to eat one serving of veggies is a little excessive. But chug a can of V8 and there’s almost 3 serves right there. 😀 I dislike the taste, but it seems to make me feel really good for the rest of the day.

  2. waistloss Says:

    You can slip carrots in a pot of chili. You can slip some spinach in your spaghetti sauce. Lots of places to hide veggies if you think about it.

  3. Neel Says:

    Learning to make Indian curries is a great way to start your love affair with veggies!

  4. DJ Says:

    Do what my much healthier wife does for me – just mix them all up in a food processor, and mix the ‘mush’ in with beef chili or something similar. You’ll hardly taste it and enjoy better health at the same time!

  5. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, everyone, thanks for some great ideas!

    CHICKENGIRL — Yes, I think that’s an acceptable way to get veggies. 🙂

    WAISTLOSS — I’ve never tried either of your suggestions, but certainly will in the future. They sound good.

    NEEL — Great idea, indian curries add a LOT to plain ol’ vegetables.

    DJ — Another great idea — your wife sounds like a wise woman!

    🙂

    Brian

  6. TheMorbidMe Says:

    Make a Veggy Wok… stir-fry all the veggies you love with with very little oil… and spice it up. You can also add chicken breast and little bit of sesame 🙂

  7. Sandy Says:

    I have a friend who HATES any kind of veggies but potatos…lol the worst ones. When we went out to eat for my birthday we went to the Cracker Barrel…if you aren’t familiar they have TONS of veggies for sides…I ordered fried okra, apples and dumplings (I know, not exactly the best but..) and HE orderd steak with THREE sides of french fries! He refused to even try any of the veggies. 😦 Yes, he has a HUGE weight issue to the point we are all worried he is going to die of a heart attack or some other condition yet to be diagnosed.

    I have always loved veggies raw or cooked so I really can’t say what worked for me…cuz I like em anyway…but I can say that to get more fruit…if you have a sweet tooth…sometimes a half or quarter of a small apple will get rid of that sweet craving! Remember, there is (naural) sugar in fruit…so instead of going for that cake or candy, pick up an apple or some berries or grapes. 🙂

  8. thedietpulpit Says:

    For some folks who just don’t eat veggies perhaps even getting a few glasses of V8 (low sodium is best) would be useful – at least it’s something. I love a lot of veggies – best way is roasted, brings out a great flavor. I would recommend to everyone to try a variety of ways to cook them and to try low calorie\low fat sauces on them, or grate them very finely into soup broth – keep experimenting and you’d be surprised you may find some you really like. As waistloss says there are a lot of ways to get your veggies. People have to realize a lot of their adversion to veggies is probably bad childhood experience – it’s time for a fresh start – we’re not kids any more — we can find healthy ways to eat veggies.

  9. Michelle Says:

    I like to buy a bag of the frozen mixed three color peppers and onions, slice up a yellow squash, place it all in some Reynolds Wrap, sprinkle with red pepper flakes and throw it on the grill. Talk about a yummy veggie chutney (I guess you can tell I don’t need to hide my veggies). 🙂

  10. Kery Says:

    I’d add: 6. Be open-minded. 😀

    I know people who genuinely don’t like vegetables, of course. But I’ve also noticed that most of the time, the ones I know who claim that as well (including myself!) actually do so because they sort of program themselves to not like veggies: they refuse to try anything new, think from the start that “it’s a vegetable, so I won’t like it”, etc. And that IMHO can be enough to indeed cause use to fail liking them, or more of them than just potatoes and carrots, that is. (And yes, one of the previous comments exactly made me think of that–the person flat-out refusing to simply TRY anything.)

Leave a Reply

