A Sure Sign That Summer is on the Way

Ah, summertime, when living is easy.

So here it is, the middle of May, and summer is almost here. I can tell that it’s almost summer time without even looking at the calendar. At my ripe old age, I’ve learned to look for 3 signs that will always tell us what time of year it is. The 3 signs are:

  1. The trees have all of their leaves and flowers are blooming
  2. People are outside in shorts and tee shirts
  3. A new crop of diet books are hitting the market

It happens every year around this time. The marketers know that people want to look good in swimming suits, shorts, etc, and so they start filling bookshelves with books about losing weight. Thousands of them.

Here’s a couple that you can look forward to this summer:

Bikini Bootcamp – apparently, this book wants you to do 2 hours of exercise a day – 2 HOURS! Every day!

The Cardio Free Diet – As I understand it, the author wants you to drop cardio training and only do strength training. While I agree that cardio is over rated as far as weight loss, it is still an important part of our overall health. I think we need to do cardio to keep our hearts and lungs healthy, at least.

The Abs Diet for Women – I loved the original Abs Diet. Lots of great information and truth in it. But the Abs Diet franchise is starting to get old. I mean, really…how can it be any different that the other 3 Abs Diet books? I have to think it’s an attempt to get the publisher’s hand a little deeper in your wallet.

Over the course of my life I have spent thousands of dollars on diet books, eating plans, exercise videos, gym memberships, etc. Some of them have been great; most have been worthless. But I’ve learned what works to lose weight, and I’ll be happy to share with you:

  • Do some strength training 3 times a week. As simple as push ups and squats.
  • Take walks at least 3 days a week, but shoot for 5.
  • Drink lots of water.
  • Cut out sugar, lessen your portion sizes, stop drinking soda (diet or regular), and don’t eat anything that comes in a bag, box or wrapper. Stick to these eating tips 90% of the time and the weight will fall off of you.

There you go…everything you need to know to lose weight. And your wallet didn’t have to leave your purse or pants pocket.

🙂

11 Responses to “A Sure Sign That Summer is on the Way”

  1. Rick Says:

    It’s amazing all the misinformation and downright fraud that’s out there. When I’m looking for other blogs to read about dieting, I come up with 3/4 of them being advertisements for supplements, surgeries, etc…

    I like your list of basic things here. I don’t cut out diet soda all together, but I have cut back on it quite a bit. I don’t want to tell how much Mt. Dew I’ve consumed in my life.

  2. Gal Josefsberg Says:

    So True! And thank you for saying this. I started my own blog because I couldn’t find anywhere that just focused on the simple stuff. It’s not about complex diets, keeping calorie points or some kind of special super duper marine special forces SEAL team diet. It’s just a bit of strength training, some cardio (or walking) and eating healthy.

    Going to link to this in my weekend round up of links as “the super duper ultra secret of being fit!!” 🙂

    GJ
    http://www.60in3.com

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Rick — thanks for commenting. If you’ve cut back quite a bit on your diet soda consumption, that’s a victory.

    🙂
    Brian

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, GJ, thanks for stopping by. Weight loss really doesn’t need to be difficult. It’s not easy, of course, but it doesn’t need to be difficult.

    Brian

  5. Krissy Says:

    I haven’t spent any money on diet plans, I’ve basically based everything I’m doing now on what I’ve heard from family members, friends, etc. Your tips above are basically everything I’ve already been doing. It’s worked so far considering I’ve dropped about 12lbs but it’s good to know that I wasn’t doing something wrong.

    Thanks for the info.

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, Krissy, if you’re following the tips outlined above, you’re doing everything right. And all without spending a dime…way to go!

    Thanks for stopping by.

    🙂

    Brian

  7. Tammy Says:

    You can’t go wrong with that advice! That’s it in a nutshell.

    For me – it was increasing my activity that made all the difference.

    Yes, I have to make better choices for meals and snacks but portion control is where I was always way off what was healthy portions!

    Great information to share…

    Tammy

  8. 60 IN 3 » Blog Archive » Weekend Roundup - Graduation Party Recovery Edition Says:

    […] Article – And from “lose weight with me” we get the super duper ultra secret tip for amazing weight loss. You may think I’m joking but I’m not. Read the end of this article and you’ll know everything you ever needed to know about losing weight. […]

  9. Anonymous Says:

    I am doing the Bikini Bootcamp, and I lost four pounds in just a few days! =) I love it. If you just have a short period of time, then that’s the book for you…

  10. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Anonymous — I’m glad you have found a program that works for you!

    🙂

    Brian

  11. Bill Says:

    MSN I NIIPET
    MSN

Leave a Reply

