10 Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight: Week 10

For the last 9 Sundays, I have been posting weekly tips designed to give someone just getting started some small, easy steps to take that will help them lose weight. This is the Tip for Week 10

Starting this week, I want you to put all the tips we’ve learned together and begin walking down a new path.

We’ve covered the basics of healthy nutrition for weight loss.  We’ve covered the basics of a workout routine. We’ve determined that there’s nothing wrong with eating right 90% of the time, and we even determined that we should take a cheat day every now and then.

You know all of these things now, so it’s time to live all of these things:

  • Eat healthy 90% of the time.
  • Take a cheat day every now and then.
  • Avoid processed foods as much as possible and eat whole foods.
  • If it comes in a bag, wrapper or box, leave it alone.
  • Make sure 2/3’s of your plate is covered with vegetables and/or fruit at every meal.
  • Eat some protein at every meal.
  • Move every day…it doesn’t have to be any more complex than a walk.  If you can do it for 30 minutes a day, 5 days a week, that’s great.  If not, just do what you can, and that’s great, too!
  • Do some sort of strength training…you need to enhance your muscle mass to burn more calories all the time.  You don’t need to join a gym.  Just do some pushups and squats at least 3 times a week. Work your abs/core at least 3 times a week as well.

If you dig back though previous posts, you will learn all of these things, and much more.

How do I know that these things will get you started losing weight?  Because they’ve worked for me.  I’ve lost 70 pounds now, and feel fantastic.  My wish for you is to begin to feel all the things that I feel every day when I wake up.

And you can feel them.  All it takes is following these 10 gentle, easy tips.

So begin now; begin to lose weight, begin to get fit…begin to live.

6 Responses to “10 Weekly Steps to Begin Losing Weight: Week 10”

  1. 60 In 3 Says:

    I would add another tip. Space out your meals and get a good breakfast. I used to eat all my calories for the day in one giant lunch. Now I space out my eating a bit more and get a healthy breakfast every day. Really helps.

  2. totaltransformation Says:

    “Take a cheat day every now and then.”

    I’ve found I lose more weight on weeks I use my cheat day. Have you noticed the same thing?

  3. Mehdi Says:

    Good tips. I’d add “drink more water”.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hey, guys, great tips. Thanks for contributing!

    Brian

  5. Pam Says:

    I’d also add “potatoes are not vegetables, they are carbs” 🙂 corn is also not a vegetable!

    Hi Brian, I’m new to your site. Clicked over here from the diet blog. I’ve lost 100lbs over the past three years through diet and exercise and I have about 20 to 30 more to go (I’m 176 and 5’9″). Just in the past six months I’ve reduced my body fat percentage from 33% to 26% (my goal is 22%).

    I’m subscribing to your RSS feed!

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    Hi, Pam — thanks so much for coming by! Congratulations on your transformation. I hope you’ll share tips and things you’ve learned on your journey with us!

    🙂

    Brian

Leave a Reply

