A Delicious, Healthy, Vegetarian Recipe

Every now and then, maybe every two weeks or so, I’ll plan a day where I eat no meat. For that day, I’ll get my protein from sources other than meat.

To be honest, I don’t remember what motivated me to begin this habit. What I do know, though, is that I usually feel pretty good physically when I skip the meat.

Now, I’m not saying that you should have meatless days every now and then, nor am I commenting on what some see as an ethical decision to eat meat or not. All I’m saying is this is something I do every so often.

If you’re interested in trying a meatless day, or if you’re just looking for a delicious new recipe to try, let me suggest the one below; it’s tasty, healthy, and relatively low cal.

Vegetable and Black Bean Tostadas

4 large flour tortillas (at least 8 inches in diameter)
Nonstick cooking spray or olive oil in mister
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
4 medium garlic cloves, minced
2 15-ounce cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup vegetable broth
2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro leaves
Salt and ground black pepper
4 cups finely shredded leaf lettuce
2 medium ripe tomatoes, cored and diced
1 1/2 teaspoons lime juice
1 medium ripe avocado

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly spray both sides of tortillas with cooking spray or oil. Place tortillas in single layer on two large baking sheets. Bake until golden and lightly colored, about 8 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside until needed.

2. Meanwhile, heat 2 teaspoons oil in large nonstick skillet. Add garlic and sauté over medium heat until golden, about 1 minute. Add beans and cook, stirring often, until heated through, about 2 minutes. Add broth and cilantro. Use potato masher to work beans into thick, chunky purée. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Remove skillet from heat, cover, and set aside.

3. Place lettuce and tomatoes in small bowl. Drizzle lime juice and remaining 1 tablespoon oil over salad. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste and toss gently. Set salad aside.

4. With a sharp knife, cut avocado in half lengthwise. Twist halves apart, remove and discard pit, then use rubber spatula to scoop flesh from skins. Cut peeled avocado into long, thin strips.

5. To serve, place one tortilla on each serving plate. Spread some warm mashed beans over each tortilla. Layer several slices of avocado over each tortilla and then spoon some salad on top.

I don’t remember where we grabbed this recipe from, but I promise that it’s tasty.  And don’t be afraid of the avocado…that’s all healthy fat!

Enjoy.

🙂

 

12 Responses to “A Delicious, Healthy, Vegetarian Recipe”

  1. totaltransformation Says:

    I spent a year of my life as a forced vegetarian. That was too much …lol.

  2. Kery Says:

    Well that is sure looking tasty. I will definitely have to check it out when I can get all the ingredients. 😀

  3. Lose Weight - Health and Fitness Blogs - Link Love Says:

    […] Weight with Me – a healthy focus on eating right to lose weight. Posted a delicious healthy vegetarian recipe – Vegetable and Black Bean Tostadas, which I just have to try… When I was successful before […]

  4. 60 in 3 Says:

    I’ve been a vegetarian for almost 2 years now. The first few months were hard but these days, I don’t miss meat at all. I did have to start including a protein supplement in my diet, but that’s all. Otherwise, I feel much healthier and I actually spend less money on my food.

    Gal

  5. Crabby McSlacker Says:

    I’m not a vegetarian, but I do eat meatless fairly often. I think people who eat a little meat but also meatless meals get the best of both worlds nutritionally. Eating meat at every meal (especially red or processed) isn’t too healthy and could lead to higher risk of stomach cancer and other problems. But strict vegetarians do have the hassle of getting enough protein, a much easier task if you eat meat now and then.

    And that recipe sounds delicious!

  6. loseweightwithme Says:

    TOTALTRANSFORMATION — A forced vegetarian?!? That sounds like an interesting story!

    KERY — Thanks for stopping by! Be sure to tell us what you think once you try it.

    GAL — What made you decide to make the jump to vegetarianism?

    CRABBY — thanks for stopping by…I LOVE your contributions on Diet-Blog.com.

    🙂

    Brian

  7. totaltransformation Says:

    “A forced vegetarian?!? That sounds like an interesting story!”

    One year at a religious private school. Said religion believes in a vegetarian diet as the most Godly diet.

  8. loseweightwithme Says:

    I can’t imagine having a vegetarian lifestyle forced on you. That had to be tough!

    Brian

  9. totaltransformation Says:

    I developed a coping mechanism- lots of Ketchup!

  10. totaltransformation Says:

    Why lots of ketchup? Veggie burgers are gross.

  11. loseweightwithme Says:

    LOL

    🙂

    Brian

  12. Katie Says:

    Not all veggie burgers are gross…. I have been a pesco-vegetarian (I still eat dairy, eggs, and seafood) for ten years now, although in the fall (at Thanksgiving), I decided to start eating poultry if it appealed to me (it hasn’t much yet). Anyway, I know this is an old post, but I was wondering if you use whole wheat tortillas? I have switched completely from regular flour or corn tortillas to 100% whole wheat, and I’ve even gotten my husband to switch – he’s a diehard white bread lover. I also enjoy the ones with flaxseed added. They take a few times to get used to (like whole wheat bread or pasta), but they are so good, and you get the benefit of whole grain rather than bleached, processed white flour (which we know isn’t so good for you).
    And if you’re looking for a good veggie burger, Boca is great, and here in Canada, we have Schneiders Oh Natural (veggie chicken nuggets, hot dogs, chicken burgers, ground beef, and burgers) that are very good. They have a nice grilled flavour.

Leave a Reply

