Time Well Spent

What do you think is worse;  not exercising at all, or performing ineffective exercises that don’t give you any results?

In my humble opinion, I think you’re worse off by performing ineffective exercises that don’t give you results.   If you’re not exercising at all, you have no expectations. You KNOW that you’re not going to get thinner or fitter, because you’re not putting forth any effort.  On the other hand, the person who is performing ineffective exercises has the intent to lose weight or get healthier and is taking action to do so.  Just think of how frustrating it must be to those people who are exercising and not seeing any results.

Yet this is happening every day, all over the world.  I see it every morning when I stroll down to the hotel’s fitness center to work out.  People using bad form, using weights that are too heavy, people using exercise machines that really don’t offer any benefit…I see them all every morning.

While I applaud these folks for at least doing something, I wish they’d take the time to at least educate themselves a little bit, or even spend a little bit of money on a personal trainer for a session or two (not that a personal trainer is necessarily an answer…I’ve seen some “personal trainers” that don’t know diddly about how to help people  achieve their fitness goals).

Here’s an article about 10 ineffective exercises that I urge you to take a few minutes and read.   Hopefully, you’re not wasting your exercise time with any of these.  I want to see you get the most out of the time and effort you’re spending exercising.

Like almost everything in life, you’re going to get more out of exercise if you’re doing it correctly.  Take the time to go to the library and check out a book or a DVD to learn the correct methods to exercise your way to fit and thin. The time that you spend learning how to do it correctly can mean the difference between your success and failure.

7 Responses to “Time Well Spent”

  1. Sayre Says:

    Even worse than exercises being ineffectual, doing them wrong or with too much weight can cause injuries. Better to do nothing than do something that will injure you. Of course, best of all is to learn how to do it properly and then DO IT.

  2. Rick Says:

    Oh whew. For a minute, I thought I was going to be dragging my fat rear end around the middle school track every other day. Sounds like more than 60 minutes of that is about all I want, though. I can dig that.

  3. Damien Says:

    @Sayre – well said.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    SAYRE – I agree with DAMIEN — very well said!

    RICK — 🙂

    Thanks for the comments, guys.

    Brian

  5. totaltransformation Says:

    Seems like a solid list. Thanks for the link. I always hated bent over rows. But what about one-arm rows?

  6. Melanie Says:

    Interesting link and great read. However, for myself, it would definitely be better to go the the gym and accomplish no health goals than not go at all. When I go work out, I feel better about myself – even if I haven’t lost weight. Going to the gym gives me a confidence that I can’t gain my dieting. I know this holds true for some of my friends as well – I see a real attitude change when they decide to start going to the gym. That time is spent listening to music and focusing on my health – and that alone is better than spending at home and beating myself up over not working out.

  7. loseweightwithme Says:

    TOTALTRANSFORMATION — I don’t think there’s a problem with one arm rows. 🙂

    MELANIE — You make a great point about feeling better about yourself!

    Brian

Leave a Reply

