The Salad Secret to Fresh Greens

I think everyone is aware that increasing the amount of fresh veggies you eat will help your weight loss efforts.  It’s a great way to be able to fill up on a food that tastes good but isn’t full of calories.  Plus, vegetables give our bodies many nutrients that our bodies need and that are missing from the processed crap that most of us eat.

When I first started my weight loss efforts, I added vegetables by eating a big-a$$ salad every day for lunch.  It’s a habit that has served me well, and one that I continue still.  I’ve gone from eating no veggies at all to having a diet that consists of AT LEAST 2/3 of each meal being vegetables.

And now, thanks to FitSugar,  I will be able to enjoy fresh salad green ever more.  I have discovered the secret to keeping lettuce and other salad greens fresh for longer periods of time!

This is so cool; I never dream it would be this easy.  Here’s the secret:

“Place the greens in a plastic bag, close the top of the bag lightly with your fist, and blow into the bag and fill it with air (carbon dioxide). Then seal the bag by twisting the top a few times before closing it firmly with a twisty-tie.  Place it in the fridge and your greens are good to go.”

 Isn’t that something?  No more eating greens that are wilted and getting a little funky.  Better yet, no more throwing out a ton of lettuce that went bad before you can eat it!

I know you can buy pre-bagged salad greens.  I have bought and used these bags, and have recommended them to others.  But by using this method, you should be able to save a little dough, and have no worries about how your greens have been packages.

5 Responses to “The Salad Secret to Fresh Greens”

  1. tweetheart Says:

    Thank you for sharing that. That is one I hate about buying greens. I will have to try it out and let you know.

    Keep up the good work on the blogs because I learn a lot from you.

  2. Sandy Says:

    I thought everyone knew that…..

    You can also put just a tad of water like a teaspoon to help as well. 🙂

  3. Rick Says:

    I’m eating more vegetables now than I ever have in my life. That said, I REFUSE to eat a salad for a meal. It’s just not in God’s Plan. But thanks for the tip; I find myself throwing out more fresh spinach than I’d like to. This should help.

  4. loseweightwithme Says:

    TWEETHEART — Thanks for the kind words!

    SANDY — I don’t know about everyone else, but i sure didn’t know it. 🙂 Thanks for the tip about the water.

    RICK — This should help you get more mileage out of that spinach!

    Brian

  5. 60 in 3 Says:

    One note, lettuce isn’t the best of greens. It’s essentially nothing more than water in vegetable form. 🙂 Try some spinach, green onion and other more nutritious greens. They’ll make the salad taste a lot better without the need for dressing.

    Gal

Leave a Reply

