10 Day Countdown to Fitness: Day 2

Welcome to Day 2 of our 10 Day Countdown to Fitness!

I’m assuming that you took the assignment from Day 1 seriously and actually did it. If not, PLEASE go back and do it. It’s an essential part of this whole process. If you are serious about using the 10 days to jump start exercising for weight loss, you will not get the long term results you want and deserve without doing the assignment for Day 1. If you skipped over it and need to go back and do it, or if this is the first post you’re reading in this 10 day series, you can find Day 1 here.

Now let’s get started on Day 2.

Grab the pen and paper you used yesterday. We’re going to make another list (can you tell that I live by lists?). I want you to write down all the fitness activities that you think you would enjoy and would like to try. Please note, I’m not asking you list the physical activities that you think you are capable of right now! I want you to write down all the things that maybe you secretly dream of trying, or that you enjoyed when you were fitter than you are now. For example, when I made my list, I wrote down things like cross country skiing, kick boxing and running a 5K race. There was NO WAY I could do that stuff when I wrote it down, but they were things that I had always wanted to do.

So don’t limit yourself; write down everything that you’d like to do. The key is to write down things that will get you excited!

Once you’re done with this, start another list. This time, I want you to write down the physical activities that you are capable of doing right now. There is no shame here! If all you can do is walk a little bit, that’s OK. Write it down. Can you do maybe a couple of push ups and a couple of squats? Fantastic! Write it down.

Now once you have both lists, I want you combine them into a new master list by starting with the activities you can do now at the top of your list and working down to the hardest exercise on your list. Your list should start with the easiest activities and progressively work in to the harder stuff.

Once you’ve done this, take a look at what you have just created. You’ve got a plan! You now have a road map to get you started exercising and leading you to the exciting activities you’ve always dreamed of doing. Pretty cool, isn’t it? Start at the top of your list, and as your fitness level improves (and it will improve fast if you’re consistent) start tackling the more intense activities.

Believe me, this works! When I started exercising, all I could do was walk to the end of the block and back. That’s how overweight and out of shape I was. By the time I hit the 6 month mark, I was learning Muay Thai kick boxing at one of the premiere mixed martial art gyms in the world. Not too bad for a guy who smoked 3 packs of cigs a day and weighed nearly 300 pounds 6 months before!

Now, I don’t say this to brag, but only to show you that this system works, regardless of how out of shape and overweight you may be right now. I promise you, if you take these simple steps your life will change.

So, grab the paper, pen and get started now. And be sure to come back tomorrow for the next step in the Countdown.

7 Responses to “10 Day Countdown to Fitness: Day 2”

  1. Watching your Weight » Losing Weight - Open Question: I'm trying to lose weight in a short amount of time. Which is better Weight Watchers or Jenny Craig? Says:

    […] 10 Day Countdown to Fitness: Day 2 Welcome to Day 2 of our 10 Day Countdown to Fitness! I?m assuming that you took the assignment from Day 1 seriously and actually did it. If not, PLEASE go back and do it. It?s an essential part of this whole process. If you are serious about using the 10 days to jump start exercising for weight loss, you will not get the long term results you […]

  2. kaz Says:

    Did I miss the day 3 entry?

  3. loseweightwithme Says:

    Nope, Kaz, I took the day off for the 4th of July.

    Brian

  4. kaz Says:

    Oooops… ok (I’m a Brit).

  5. 10 Day Countdown to Fitness: Day 3 « Lose Weight With Me Says:

    […] Lose Weight With Me So Far, I’ve Lost 60 Pounds. Watch As I Continue to Lose Weight…Or Better Yet, Join Me! « 10 Day Countdown to Fitness: Day 2 […]

  6. kellysmack Says:

    I didn’t even know there was an assignment, but I’m apparently in with you 🙂

  7. loseweightwithme Says:

    Glad to have you in with us, Kellysmack!

    🙂

    Brian

Leave a Reply

